Term Dates for 2019 – 2020 Academic Year are now confirmed.  Please go to “Families / Term Dates” page.

Please go to “News” for information on the consultation on the proposal to close the residential care provision at
St Dominic’s School.

The Team

Visitors to St Dominic’s have commented on the happy, relaxed atmosphere in our school. As with any community, we have rules and leaders. Our dedicated staff are creative, dynamic and innovative and are committed to improving outcomes for our pupils and students to enhance their learning process and provide an exciting Waking Day Curriculum.

All permanent support staff attend In Service Training (INSET) on autism and other special needs. There is ongoing in-house training on Understanding Autism and other relevant SEN type training.

Staff members also attend training in the SPELL framework.  Developed by the National Autistic Society in conjunction with people with autism, their families and professionals, it is a socially valid framework that supports the understanding of autism and the development of autism friendly environments and approaches.

Please see the link below for the management structure.

Management Structure

The full staff team, under the leadership of the Principal, Mrs Angela Drayton can be found below.

 

Name Area of responsibilityContact details
Mrs A DraytonPrincipaladrayton@stdominicsschool.org.uk
Mrs V PerryVice Principal & Regional Lead for Educationvperry@stdominicsschool.org.uk
Mrs E GodfreyAssistant Head of Education & Key Stage 3 Coordinatorlgodfrey@stdominicsschool.org.uk
Mrs N WilsonAssistant Head of Education, Responsible for Learning and Teaching across the Waking Day Curriculumnwilson@stdominicsschool.org.uk
Mr M BellRegional Lead SENCombell@stdominicsschool.org.uk
Miss E JonesHead of Key Stage 2ejones@stdominicsschool.org.uk
Dr K GlaysherRegional Lead for Integrated Services;  Occupational Therapistkglaysher@stdominicsschool.org.uk
Mrs S Hatherall-GoodKey Stage 5 Coordinatorshatherall-good@stdominicsschool.org.uk
Mrs D Gilmour6th Form Teacherdgilmour@stdominicsschool.org.uk
Mrs S ChownScience Teacher & Key Stage 4 Coordinatorschown@stdominicsschool.org.uk
Mrs B ColemanKey Stage 2 Teacherbcoleman@stdominicsschool.org.uk
Mr C ConnorPE Teachercconnor@stdominicsschool.org.uk
Miss J GrantEnglish Teacherjgrant@stdominicsschool.org.uk
Mrs P HamiltonArt Teacher phamilton@stdominicsschool.org.uk
Mrs V WalshMaths Teacher vwalsh@stdominicsschool.org.uk
Miss E RackstrawRegional Lead Speech & Language Therapisterackstraw@stdominicsschool.org.uk
Mrs C MorganRegional Lead Occupational Therapistcmorgan@stdominicsschool.org.uk
Mr S MortonBehaviour & Inclusion Co-ordinatorsmorton@stdominicsschool.org.uk
Mr N PerryBehaviour & Inclusion Leadnperry@stdominicsschool.org.uk
Mr S ReynoldsTeacher of Computingsreynolds@stdominicsschool.org.uk
Mr A PryorTeacher apryor@stdominicsschool.org.uk
Mr H AlonsoTeacher
Mrs C HallCareers Education & Guidance Practitionerchall@stdominicsschool.org.uk
Dr K GlaysherInterim Head of Care kglaysher@stdominicsschool.org.uk
Mrs B DeansResidential Area Leader (Phoenix House)bdeans@stdominicsschool.org.uk
Ms K NichollsResidential Area Leader (6th Form)knicholls@stdominicsschool.org.uk
Mr D WardSite Managerdward@stdominicsschool.org.uk
Miss A HayterTeacher ahayter@stdominicsschool.org.uk
Ms T JonesPA to the Principaltjones@stdominicsschool.org.uk
Mr M EllisHead of Mathsmmoran-ellis@stdominicsschool.org.uk
Mr N RolaTeacher nrola@stdominicsschool.org.uk
Mrs S KennedyAdmissions & Family Liaison Managerskennedy@stdominicsschool.org.uk
Miss D CopelandTeacher dcopeland@stdominicsschool.org.uk

 

The residential special school provides highly effective services that consistently exceed the standards of good. The actions of the school contribute to significantly improved outcomes and positive experiences for children and young people. Ofsted – March 2018

 

 

Latest News

Consultation on the proposal to close the residential care provision at St Dominic’s School

We are proposing to close the residential care provision as of July 2020.  The rationale for this change is to ensure the continued quality and sustainability of day provision at the school. A formal consultation, to seek feedback on the …

Read more

Science Museum visit!

This week, one class visited the Science Museum in London as part one of two trips this half term. The visit’s focus was the restless earth and how we use science to predict natural disasters such as flooding (we did …

Read more

Chippy Friday!

Last week pupils and staff took part in ‘Chippy Friday’. Everyone was treated to a chip shop style lunch in individual boxes. On the menu  was different types of cod and battered sausage, along with chips and mushy peas! Everyone …

Read more

Robin Hood – The Pantomime!!

This week the drama club pupils performed Robin Hood, the pantomime. They worked extremely hard in the rehearsals leading up to the show and the show itself was a huge success. There was lots of laughter, booing and cheering from …

Read more