The early May Bank Holiday 2020 has been changed from 4th May to 8th May to coincide with the 75th anniversary of VE Day.  Our 2019-20 Term Dates, which can be found on the ‘Families’ page, have been updated.

See our News page to access time-lapse photos of how construction of our new Performing Arts Centre is progressing.

The Team

Visitors to St Dominic’s have commented on the happy, relaxed atmosphere in our school. As with any community, we have rules and leaders. Our dedicated staff are creative, dynamic and innovative and are committed to improving outcomes for our pupils and students to enhance their learning process and provide an exciting Waking Day Curriculum.

All permanent support staff attend In Service Training (INSET) on autism and other special needs. There is ongoing in-house training on Understanding Autism and other relevant SEN type training.

Staff members also attend training in the SPELL framework.  Developed by the National Autistic Society in conjunction with people with autism, their families and professionals, it is a socially valid framework that supports the understanding of autism and the development of autism friendly environments and approaches.

Please see the link below for the management structure.

Management Structure

The full staff team, under the leadership of the Principal, Mrs Angela Drayton can be found below.

 

Name Area of responsibilityContact details
Mrs A DraytonPrincipaladrayton@stdominicsschool.org.uk
Mrs V PerryVice Principal & Regional Lead for Educationvperry@stdominicsschool.org.uk
Mrs E GodfreyAssistant Head of Education & Key Stage 3 Coordinatorlgodfrey@stdominicsschool.org.uk
Mrs N WilsonAssistant Head of Education, Responsible for Learning and Teaching across the Waking Day Curriculumnwilson@stdominicsschool.org.uk
Mr M BellRegional Lead SENCombell@stdominicsschool.org.uk
Miss E JonesHead of Key Stage 2ejones@stdominicsschool.org.uk
Dr K GlaysherRegional Lead for Integrated Services;  Occupational Therapistkglaysher@stdominicsschool.org.uk
Mrs S Hatherall-GoodKey Stage 5 Coordinatorshatherall-good@stdominicsschool.org.uk
Mrs D Gilmour6th Form Teacherdgilmour@stdominicsschool.org.uk
Mrs S ChownScience Teacher & Key Stage 4 Coordinatorschown@stdominicsschool.org.uk
Mrs B ColemanKey Stage 2 Teacherbcoleman@stdominicsschool.org.uk
Mr C ConnorPE Teachercconnor@stdominicsschool.org.uk
Miss J GrantEnglish Teacherjgrant@stdominicsschool.org.uk
Mrs P HamiltonArt Teacher phamilton@stdominicsschool.org.uk
Mrs V WalshMaths Teacher vwalsh@stdominicsschool.org.uk
Miss E RackstrawRegional Lead Speech & Language Therapisterackstraw@stdominicsschool.org.uk
Mrs C MorganRegional Lead Occupational Therapistcmorgan@stdominicsschool.org.uk
Mr S MortonBehaviour & Inclusion Co-ordinatorsmorton@stdominicsschool.org.uk
Mr N PerryBehaviour & Inclusion Leadnperry@stdominicsschool.org.uk
Mr S ReynoldsTeacher of Computingsreynolds@stdominicsschool.org.uk
Mr A PryorTeacher apryor@stdominicsschool.org.uk
Mr H AlonsoTeacher
Mrs C HallCareers Education & Guidance Practitionerchall@stdominicsschool.org.uk
Dr K GlaysherInterim Head of Care kglaysher@stdominicsschool.org.uk
Mrs B DeansResidential Area Leader (Phoenix House)bdeans@stdominicsschool.org.uk
Ms K NichollsResidential Area Leader (6th Form)knicholls@stdominicsschool.org.uk
Mr D WardSite Managerdward@stdominicsschool.org.uk
Miss A HayterTeacher ahayter@stdominicsschool.org.uk
Ms T JonesPA to the Principaltjones@stdominicsschool.org.uk
Mrs C NesbitSchool Nursecnesbit@stdominicsschool.org.uk
Mr N RolaTeacher nrola@stdominicsschool.org.uk
Mrs S KennedyAdmissions & Family Liaison Managerskennedy@stdominicsschool.org.uk
Miss D CopelandTeacher dcopeland@stdominicsschool.org.uk

 

The residential special school provides highly effective services that consistently exceed the standards of good. The actions of the school contribute to significantly improved outcomes and positive experiences for children and young people. Ofsted – March 2018

 

 

Latest News

A trip to Kew Gardens

Ospreys class have been studying ‘living things’ this term, so they had a trip to Kew Gardens after all their hard work! Everyone had a great day, below are a few photo highlights:  

Read more

Plant life!

Our Year 8 pupils have been planting seeds to learn about plant reproduction. This culminated in putting together a greenhouse without any instructions! Pupils worked together collaboratively to build the greenhouse to house their newly planted crops. We are looking …

Read more

Work progresses on our new Performing Arts Centre

  Click here to view the time lapse photos

Read more

SUMMER FETE CANCELLED

We have taken the difficult decision to cancel the Summer Fete which was due to take place on Saturday 6th July. This decision has been reached due to the health and safety implications of the extensive building works currently taking …

Read more