We would like to thank those of you who took the time to respond to the proposal to close the residential provision at St Dominic’s and provide feedback.  Please see the News page for the final Consultation Report.

The Team

Visitors to St Dominic’s have commented on the happy, relaxed atmosphere in our school. As with any community, we have rules and leaders. Our dedicated staff are creative, dynamic and innovative and are committed to improving outcomes for our pupils and students to enhance their learning process and provide an exciting Waking Day Curriculum.

All permanent support staff attend In Service Training (INSET) on autism and other special needs. There is ongoing in-house training on Understanding Autism and other relevant SEN type training.

Staff members also attend training in the SPELL framework.  Developed by the National Autistic Society in conjunction with people with autism, their families and professionals, it is a socially valid framework that supports the understanding of autism and the development of autism friendly environments and approaches.

Please see the link below for the management structure.

Management Structure

The full staff team, under the leadership of the Principal, Mrs Angela Drayton can be found below.

 

Name Area of responsibilityContact details
Mrs A DraytonPrincipaladrayton@stdominicsschool.org.uk
Mrs V PerryVice Principal & Regional Lead for Educationvperry@stdominicsschool.org.uk
Mrs E GodfreyAssistant Head of Education & Key Stage 3 Coordinatorlgodfrey@stdominicsschool.org.uk
Mrs N WilsonAssistant Head of Education, Responsible for Learning and Teaching across the Waking Day Curriculumnwilson@stdominicsschool.org.uk
Mr M BellRegional Lead SENCombell@stdominicsschool.org.uk
Miss E JonesHead of Key Stage 2ejones@stdominicsschool.org.uk
Dr K GlaysherRegional Lead for Integrated Services;  Occupational Therapistkglaysher@stdominicsschool.org.uk
Mrs S Hatherall-GoodKey Stage 5 Coordinatorshatherall-good@stdominicsschool.org.uk
Mrs D Gilmour6th Form Teacherdgilmour@stdominicsschool.org.uk
Mrs S ChownScience Teacher & Key Stage 4 Coordinatorschown@stdominicsschool.org.uk
Mrs B ColemanKey Stage 2 Teacherbcoleman@stdominicsschool.org.uk
Mr C ConnorPE Teachercconnor@stdominicsschool.org.uk
Miss J GrantEnglish Teacherjgrant@stdominicsschool.org.uk
Mrs P HamiltonArt Teacher phamilton@stdominicsschool.org.uk
Mrs V WalshMaths Teacher vwalsh@stdominicsschool.org.uk
Miss E RackstrawRegional Lead Speech & Language Therapisterackstraw@stdominicsschool.org.uk
Mrs C MorganRegional Lead Occupational Therapistcmorgan@stdominicsschool.org.uk
Mr S MortonBehaviour & Inclusion Co-ordinatorsmorton@stdominicsschool.org.uk
Mr N PerryBehaviour & Inclusion Leadnperry@stdominicsschool.org.uk
Mr S ReynoldsTeacher of Computingsreynolds@stdominicsschool.org.uk
Mr A PryorTeacher apryor@stdominicsschool.org.uk
Mr H AlonsoTeacher
Mrs C HallCareers Education & Guidance Practitionerchall@stdominicsschool.org.uk
Dr K GlaysherInterim Head of Care kglaysher@stdominicsschool.org.uk
Mrs B DeansResidential Area Leader (Phoenix House)bdeans@stdominicsschool.org.uk
Ms K NichollsResidential Area Leader (6th Form)knicholls@stdominicsschool.org.uk
Mr D WardSite Managerdward@stdominicsschool.org.uk
Miss A HayterTeacher ahayter@stdominicsschool.org.uk
Ms T JonesPA to the Principaltjones@stdominicsschool.org.uk
Mrs C NesbitSchool Nursecnesbit@stdominicsschool.org.uk
Mr N RolaTeacher nrola@stdominicsschool.org.uk
Mrs S KennedyAdmissions & Family Liaison Managerskennedy@stdominicsschool.org.uk
Miss D CopelandTeacher dcopeland@stdominicsschool.org.uk

 

The residential special school provides highly effective services that consistently exceed the standards of good. The actions of the school contribute to significantly improved outcomes and positive experiences for children and young people. Ofsted – March 2018

 

 

Latest News

St Dominic’s Residential Closure Proposal

The school recently consulted, between Wednesday 30th January 2019 and Wednesday 20th March 2019, on a proposal to close the residential care provision at St Dominic’s School. The rationale for this change is to ensure the future financial viability of …

Read more

Residential Provision rated Outstanding

I was delighted that our Residential Provision was again rated ‘Outstanding’ by Ofsted following their inspection in February.  I am so proud of all our staff; it is through their dedication, commitment and hard work as individuals and teams that …

Read more

Roman Soldiers!

Year 7 groups worked really hard at making their own Roman Shields. They had a great time practising Roman Tactics outside and charging the enemy!  

Read more

Raystede Animal Shelter

This term Year 8 have been studying poetry. With this in mind, we organised a trip to Raystede Animal Shelter. The trip gave the students the opportunity to observe the animals to inspire them to write their own poems.  

Read more