We would like to thank those of you who took the time to respond to the proposal to close the residential provision at St Dominic’s and provide feedback.  Please see the News page for the final Consultation Report.

Safeguarding

St Dominic’s School is committed to safeguarding and promoting the welfare of children and young people and expects all staff and volunteers to share this commitment. We ensure that consistent and effective safeguarding procedures and policies are in place to support pupils and staff at school and follow the guidance of Keeping Children Safe in Education 19th September 2018. If a pupil or parent has a concern they should contact the school immediately.

Please see our policy and procedure for further details.

Child Protection, Adult Protection & Safeguarding Policy and Procedure

The safety of our students is our number one priority.  As we all know, the risks in modern society are varied and constantly changing and we cannot remove these, so we all need to help educate children in ways to keep themselves safe.

As part of safeguarding the pupils of St Dominic’s School we will ensure that no political is promoted. If political views are discussed as part of the school curriculum we will ensure this is a balanced discussion.

Safeguarding Team:

If anyone is worried that a pupil is being abused or there are safeguarding issues, the senior designated member of staff should be contacted. Alternatively you can contact the LADO (Local Authority Designated Officer) at Surrey Council.

Designated Safeguarding Lead (school):

Vicky Perry, Vice Principal
Tel: 01428 684 693
Email: vperry@stdominicsschool.org.uk

Deputy Designated Safeguarding Leads (school):

Matthew Bell: mbell@stdominicsschool.org.uk
Simon Reynolds: sreynolds@stdominicsschool.org.uk
Liz Godfrey: lgodfrey@stdominicsschool.org.uk
Emma Jones: ejones@stdominicsschool.org.uk
Dr Kirsty Glaysher: kglaysher@stdominicsschool.org.uk
David Clarke: dclarke@stdominicsschool.org.uk
Mrs S Hatherall-Good: shatherall-good@stdominicsschool.org.uk
Sarah Kennedy: skennedy@stdominicsschool.org.uk
Rob Chowns: rchowns@stdominicsschool.org.uk
Angela Drayton: adrayton@stdominicsschool.org.uk

 

Surrey Council Designated Officer (LADO) Tel: 0300 200 1006

Designated Safeguarding Governor: Andrew Falk, contact via the school office

 

Operation Encompass

St Dominic’s School has taken the opportunity to join the Operation Encompass scheme which will run jointly between local schools, Surrey Police and Surrey County Council.  Operation Encompass has been designed to provide early reporting on any domestic incidents that occur outside of school and might have an impact on a child in school.

For more information see www.operationencompass.org

 

 

The residential special school provides highly effective services that consistently exceed the standards of good. The actions of the school contribute to significantly improved outcomes and positive experiences for children and young people. Ofsted – March 2018

 

 

Latest News

St Dominic’s Residential Closure Proposal

The school recently consulted, between Wednesday 30th January 2019 and Wednesday 20th March 2019, on a proposal to close the residential care provision at St Dominic’s School. The rationale for this change is to ensure the future financial viability of …

Read more

Residential Provision rated Outstanding

I was delighted that our Residential Provision was again rated ‘Outstanding’ by Ofsted following their inspection in February.  I am so proud of all our staff; it is through their dedication, commitment and hard work as individuals and teams that …

Read more

Roman Soldiers!

Year 7 groups worked really hard at making their own Roman Shields. They had a great time practising Roman Tactics outside and charging the enemy!  

Read more

Raystede Animal Shelter

This term Year 8 have been studying poetry. With this in mind, we organised a trip to Raystede Animal Shelter. The trip gave the students the opportunity to observe the animals to inspire them to write their own poems.  

Read more