Safeguarding

St Dominic’s School is committed to safeguarding and promoting the welfare of children and young people and expects all staff and volunteers to share this commitment. We ensure that consistent and effective safeguarding procedures and policies are in place to support pupils and staff at school and follow the guidance of Keeping Children Safe in Education September 2021. If a pupil or parent has a concern they should contact the school immediately.

For more information, please see our safeguarding and wellbeing offer.

St Dominic’s School Safeguarding and Wellbeing Offer

Please see our policy and procedure for further details.

Child Protection, Adult Protection & Safeguarding Policy and Procedure

The safety of our students is our number one priority.  As we all know, the risks in modern society are varied and constantly changing and we cannot remove these, so we all need to help educate children in ways to keep themselves safe.

As part of safeguarding the pupils of St Dominic’s School we will ensure that no political is promoted. If political views are discussed as part of the school curriculum we will ensure this is a balanced discussion.

Safeguarding Team:

If anyone is worried that a pupil is being abused or there are safeguarding issues, the senior designated member of staff should be contacted. Alternatively you can contact the LADO (Local Authority Designated Officer) at Surrey Council.

Designated Safeguarding Lead (school):

Dr Kirsty Glaysher: kglaysher@stdominicsschool.org.uk

Tel: 01428 684 693

Assistant DSL (school):

Mrs J Clayton: jclayton@stdominicsschool.org.uk

Deputy Designated Safeguarding Lead (school):

Mrs V Perry:  vperry@stdominicsschool.org.uk

Mr D Clarke: dclarke@stdominicsschool.org.uk

Designated Safeguarding Officers (school):

Mrs C Nesbit: cnesbit@stdominicsschool.org.uk

Mrs A Pryor: a-mhayter@stdominicsschool.org.uk

Mrs M Broughton: mbroughton@stdominicsschool.org.uk

Mrs S Chown: schown@stdominicsschool.org.uk

Mrs L Douglas: lcoates@stdominicsschool.org.uk

Ms S Francis sfrancis@stdominicsschool.org.uk

Ms E Rackstraw erackstraw@stdominicsschool.org.uk

Ms L Snelgrove lsnelgrove@stdominicsschool.org.uk

Mr A Pryor apryor@stdominicsschool.org.uk

Mr C Connor cconnor@stdominicsschool.org.uk

 

Surrey Council Designated Officer (LADO) Tel: 0300 200 1006

Designated Safeguarding Governor: Leigh Edser, contact via the school office

 

Operation Encompass

St Dominic’s School has taken the opportunity to join the Operation Encompass scheme which will run jointly between local schools, Surrey Police and Surrey County Council. Operation Encompass has been designed to provide early reporting on any domestic incidents that occur outside of school and might have an impact on a child in school.

For more information see www.operationencompass.org

 

 

My Son has made incredible progress emotionally and applies himself much better academically. The mentoring aspect is key to his progress.

 

 

Latest News

NAS Advance Accreditation status

We are delighted to announce that following a reassessment by the National Autistic Society (NAS) we have retained our Advanced Accreditation status. According to official NAS criteria, an “Advanced” provision “provides highly creative and very personalised support to enable each …

Read more

Hemmick – our therapy dog

We were all very happy to see Hemmick, our pets as therapy (PAT) dog back at school after the festive break. He brings so much joy as well as therapeutic benefits to the whole school community including: Physical benefits – …

Read more

OHC&AT Christmas Card Winner

Pupils and students put their creative talents to great use entering the Orchard Hill College & Academy Trust (OHC&AT) Christmas card competition. The Trust received over 250 designs, so we were over the moon to hear that St Dominic’s student, …

Read more

Bringing history to life

Year 4 pupils have been learning about the Great Fire of London. To bring their learning to life they designed, created and decorated houses from the period of 1666 and then set them alight during forest school. They witnessed how …

Read more