Safeguarding

St Dominic’s School is committed to safeguarding and promoting the welfare of children and young people and expects all staff and volunteers to share this commitment. We ensure that consistent and effective safeguarding procedures and policies are in place to support pupils and staff at school and follow the guidance of Keeping Children Safe in Education January 2021. If a pupil or parent has a concern they should contact the school immediately.

COVID-19 SAFEGUARDING UPDATE: please see the Covid-19 annex to our safeguarding policy for details of how we continue to safeguard students through the coronavirus pandemic.

St Dominic’s School Covid-19 safeguarding annex

For more information, please see our safeguarding and wellbeing offer.

St Dominic’s School Safeguarding and Wellbeing Offer

Please see our policy and procedure for further details.

Child Protection, Adult Protection & Safeguarding Policy and Procedure

The safety of our students is our number one priority.  As we all know, the risks in modern society are varied and constantly changing and we cannot remove these, so we all need to help educate children in ways to keep themselves safe.

As part of safeguarding the pupils of St Dominic’s School we will ensure that no political is promoted. If political views are discussed as part of the school curriculum we will ensure this is a balanced discussion.

Safeguarding Team:

If anyone is worried that a pupil is being abused or there are safeguarding issues, the senior designated member of staff should be contacted. Alternatively you can contact the LADO (Local Authority Designated Officer) at Surrey Council.

Designated Safeguarding Lead (school):

Dr Kirsty Glaysher: kglaysher@stdominicsschool.org.uk

Tel: 01428 684 693

Deputy Designated Safeguarding Leads (school):

Mrs V Perry:  vperry@stdominicsschool.org.uk

Mr M Bell: mbell@stdominicsschool.org.uk

Designated Safeguarding Officers (school):

Mr D Clarke: dclarke@stdominicsschool.org.uk

Mrs C Nesbit: cnesbit@stdominicsschool.org.uk

Mrs A Pryor: a-mhayter@stdominicsschool.org.uk

Mr M Broughton mbroughton@stdominicsschool.org.uk

Mrs C Nesbit cnesbit@stdominicsschool.org.uk

Mrs S Chown schown@stdominicsschool.org.uk

Mrs A Pryor a-mhayter@stdominicsschool.org.uk

Ms L Coates lcoates@stdominicsschool.org.uk

Ms S Francis sfrancis@stdominicsschool.org.uk

Ms E Rackstraw erackstraw@stdominicsschool.org.uk

Ms L Snelgrove lsnelgrove@stdominicsschool.org.uk

Mr A Pryor apryor@stdominicsschool.org.uk

 

 

Surrey Council Designated Officer (LADO) Tel: 0300 200 1006

Designated Safeguarding Governor: Leigh Edser, contact via the school office

 

Operation Encompass

St Dominic’s School has taken the opportunity to join the Operation Encompass scheme which will run jointly between local schools, Surrey Police and Surrey County Council. Operation Encompass has been designed to provide early reporting on any domestic incidents that occur outside of school and might have an impact on a child in school.

For more information see www.operationencompass.org

 

 

The residential special school provides highly effective services that consistently exceed the standards of good. The actions of the school contribute to significantly improved outcomes and positive experiences for children and young people. Ofsted – March 2019

 

 

Latest News

Career Dress-up Day

Last week we had a career dress-up day for Years 3 – 8. Pupils came to school dressed up to represent a job. We had a newsreader, detective, builder, gamer, vet, footballer, restaurant worker, golfer, and a scientist. We were …

Read more

Red Nose Day!

Teachers, students and pupils alike, had fun celebrating Red Nose Day today.  We will let you know next week how much St Dominic’s raised. Please see this week’s Friday Flyer for more photographs.

Read more

Living Eggs!

Pupils and students had a lovely time last week, looking at and holding our newly-hatched eggs from ‘Living Eggs’. Living Eggs ‘Ready to Hatch’ is a two-week comprehensive programme which provided us with everything we needed to hatch chicks.   …

Read more

We all need a laugh this year!

Red Nose Day is on Friday 19th March. At school, we are planning some fun activities that pupils can get involved in to raise a smile and raise some money! Crazy hair day! Style your hair in the craziest way you …

Read more